Search Website
Training and Consultancy in Systems Design and Process Improvement
Using the Systems World to understand and improve the real world.
Design better products and processes by using the systems approach.
Make your organization more effective and efficient by removing waste.
Improve your processes and products by reducing and controlling variation.
Develop your leadership and your team as change agents.

Bronze Silver Gold


Embedding Continuous Improvement in Your Organization Using the Bronze-Silver-Gold System

How the Bronze-Silver-Gold system works

The embedding of a continuous improvement culture is predicated on two mechanisms – project-based activity and self-assessment against a predefined set of performance-related behaviours, which have been graded as ‘Bronze-Silver-Gold’.

In simplistic terms, ‘Bronze’ level is about ‘doing what we are supposed to do well’ and creates a ‘quality service’ mindset; ‘Silver’ is about ‘improving our processes and quality to better satisfy customers’ and will see the introduction of problem-solving behaviours, tools and techniques to team; ‘Gold’ level represents world-class practice as a recognisable description of daily activity in the organization.

Figure 1: Schematic of the Bronze-Silver-Gold levels of performance

Figure 2 (below) illustrates the ‘audit cycle’, which gives rise to a number of actions which are designed (by the orientation of the audit at Bronze Level) to develop the mindset of Continuous Improvement by focusing on improvement in the five qualifying requirements, namely:

  • Workplace – how we take pride in our working environment
  • Our role – how we contribute to service provision
  • Performance – how well we perform
  • Flexibility – how we work flexibly
  • Procedures – how we do our work

Figure 2: The audit cycle

Figure 3: Audit results – a typical radar chart

The actions are executed by the workforce, both management and operational team. During the Bronze phase, the company's Continuous Improvement agents (coached by the BHW consultant) conduct a series of workshops. This combination of audit-workshop-action is what affects a change in the cultural mindset of the team.

Figure 4 shows the overall BSG road map for the Bronze phase:

Figure 4: BSG road map – Bronze phase

Burge Hughes Walsh Limited
First Floor, 6 Allerton Road,
Rugby, Warwickshire CV23 0PA.

Phone: 01788 550015